How Leslie Found Pilates

Sometimes you realize that what you thought you wanted in life is actually what someone else wanted for you. Once you realize that, you have a choice. You can continue on the path you’re on, or change paths.

That’s how Leslie found Pilates. 

I worked in corporate as a Project Manager for 10 years, and pretty much disliked all of it.  I went into corporate because that what I thought I was SUPPOSED to do.  One of my releases was practicing at Chaturanga, first with Ashtanga yoga, then Vinyasa, and finally Pilates, which really struck a cord with me.  I realized that I had a choice, and I quit my corporate gig, and signed up for the first Pilates Teacher Training Program at Chaturanga.

Teaching Pilates was a way to share the passion and joy of finding her calling. 

I wanted to share my love of the discipline with others, be more active in my work, and just have a complete change from my previous type of employ.  I like to challenge my students, so I enjoy teaching my Level 2 classes the most.  I I like coming up with new and challenging repertoire for my students, and building up from Pilates foundations to send them flying!

A serendipitous introduction to theatre in Hyde Park

I’ve always done wacky voices, and liked to perform (although I’m actually an introvert).  I noticed a flyer for the Hyde Park Community Players (at Chaturanga!)  announcing a production of a staged reading of A Raisin in the Sun, directed by one of my neighbors.  Two days later, she actually came to my door for a totally different reason, and I knew it was meant to be.  I told her of my interest and she immediately asked me to join the cast!  I enjoyed the process so much, I auditioned for the fully staged production of Oscar Wilde’s An Ideal Husband, securing the small and very fun role of Mrs. Marchmont.  And now with the Marriage of Bette and Boo, to my great surprise, I got the lead!

16722654_1237227179695886_6587995444535464693_o

The Marriage of Bette and Boo, Starring Leslie!

Bette and I are a lot a like in terms of our high energy and the tendency to speak really fast, but that’s where the similarities end.  Bette is . . . very focused on having children, and changing her husband into someone he’s not.  This results in a hilarious dark comedy about Bette and Boo and their extended dysfunctional family.  The cast cracks up throughout every rehearsal.  Bette is pregnant throughout most of the play, so it’s helpful that I’m expecting my first child this summer!

Catch Leslie weekly in her Pilates classes and in her upcoming production of The Marriage of Bette and Boo!

Tickets available here!

cropped-chaturanga-holistic-fitness-logoChaturanga Holistic Fitness
Your home for lifelong health in Hyde Park
Leave a Reply

